Change or no change in Timor-Leste?

When incumbent Jose Ramos-Horta lost the March first round of Timor-Leste's largely peaceful presidential election, some saw it as the end of an era for Timorese politics that began with the country’s independence from Indonesia in 2002. Ramos-Horta, along with Fretilin leader Mari Alkatiri and Prime Minister Xanana Gusmao, have dominated the politics of the country, also known as East Timor, since independence, with the top jobs of prime minister and president passing between the trio, who have been sometimes comrades, sometimes rivals.

Read →

Keep reading with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Asia Sentinel to keep reading this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.